06.09.2019 | Concert

An Explosion of Colours

Philharmonia Zürich

Jukka-Pekka Saraste: Conductor

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony Nr. 6 F-Dur op. 68 (»Sinfonia pastorale«, 1807/08)

Frank Martin: Concerto für sieben Blasinstrumente, Pauken, Schlagzeug und Streichorchester (1949)

Béla Bartók: »Der wunderbare Mandarin«. Suite für Orchester op. 19 Sz 73 (1928)


It begins with a great symphonic opening: In his 6th Symphony, Beethoven succeeded in creating the most beautiful images of nature, while pressing forward to new forms. The “Pastoral” has five movements instead of the conventional four. Works by Frank Martin and Béla Bartók later illustrated how Beethoven’s formal experiments were developed further in the 20th century. Martin’s Concerto resembles a sparkling and colourful concerto grosso with massive climaxes and a boisterous finale. Bartók’s dance pantomime ‘The Miraculous Mandarin’ was banned after its Cologne premiere in 1926 by the city’s mayor, Konrad Adenauer, due to its immoral plot. Two years later Bartók reworked his “Mandarin” into a highly expressive orchestral suite that soon began a triumphant march through the concert halls of the world.


World Conference Center Bonn
Platz der Vereinten Nationen 2
53113 Bonn

Admission prices

€ 115 | 100 | 82 | 60 | 43

Ticket information

bookable from now on:


Click on the button below to reload the content. Please note that the activation will transmit data to the respective third party provider. Further information can be found in our privacy policy.

Click on the button below, to load the content

Show content