06.02.2020 to 06.02.2020 | Side programme

Prometheus on Tour

Basel Symphony Orchestra

Lars Vogt, Piano

Peter Simonischek, Speaker

Ivor Bolton, Conductor

Ludwig van Beethoven:

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 5 in E flat major op. 73

Excerpts from the ballet "The Creatures of Prometheus" op. 43

with texts by Alain Claude Sulzer (2019)

Beethoven composed the electrifying music for his ballet “The Creatures of Prometheus” under the influence of the French Revolution. The Basel author Alain Claude Sulzer has written his own version of the text, which is performed by the actor Peter Simonischek.

The soloist also incorporates Beethoven's 5th piano concerto in a completely new way, often acting as a further voice of the powerful orchestra. A task so delicate and requiring such a deft touch is in safe hands with Lars Vogt.

Please check ticket prices by clicking on the "Order Ticket" link below.


Burghof Lörrach
Herrenstrasse 5
79539 Lörrach

Admission prices

Ticket prices can be found under the link "Order ticket"


Click on the button below to reload the content. Please note that the activation will transmit data to the respective third party provider. Further information can be found in our privacy policy.

Click on the button below, to load the content

Show content